Liverpool star Mane reveals surprise at red card for Ederson collision

Published on by Salaam Rasak O.

Liverpool star Mane reveals surprise at red card for Ederson collision

Sadio Mane admits he was surprised to be issued a red card for catching Ederson in the face during Liverpool's defeat to Manchester City.

With the Reds already trailing at the Etihad Stadium, Mane collided with the Brazilian goalkeeper as he chased down a looping ball down field.

He said: "Honestly, I was focusing more on the goalkeeper than the card and when I saw the red card I was surprised because I was expecting a yellow card.

"It's not easy for me because I love to play football and I enjoy helping my team to win games.

“But I'll accept it and try to forget it. I was going for the ball and I didn't have the intention to hurt him because I'm not that kind of player. I wish him a quick recovery.”

Published on sport

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:

Comment on this post